People have been at the epicenter of who we are, why we do what we do, and how we achieve our mission year after year. 

Through the years we have seen customers become members, members become volunteers, and volunteers become board members.  

The photo above is of the historic Julia Ideson Building at 550 McKinney in Downtown Houston. Ms. Ideson was one of the vital pioneers and leaders of our Houston Libraries, whose energy and talents knew no bounds. It is because of leaders like her, readers like you, and a leadership team like those listed below that her vision and ingenuity continue to live on.

Friends of hpl Operating Committee


Ivonne Douma

Debbie Hall 

Judy Hoya

Ron Kleist

Kathy Williams 

Houston public library foundation Staff

Sally Swanson, CFRE, Executive Director | Email

Rose Hinojosa, Marketing and Events Director | Email

Sarah Suarez, Development Manager | Email

Avis L. McCray, Philanthropy Coordinator and Executive Assistant | Email

Bryan Cardenas, Volunteer and Warehouse Coordinator | Email

Tony Barilla, Volunteer and Warehouse Coordinator | Email


Dr. Rhea Brown Lawson, Director of Libraries